Knowledgebase: Sterling ACR Guidance
Comfort Cooling
Posted by Mike Gordon on 22 July 2015 02:04 PM

In December 2012, the Government publication: A guide to air conditioning inspections for buildings was updated.

The original publication stated:

An air-conditioning system refers to any system where refrigeration is used to provide cooling for the comfort of occupants. This would exclude separate refrigeration provided solely for process applications such as cold stores, pharmaceutical production etc.

The revised publication reads:

An air conditioning system is defined as ‘a combination of all components required to provide a form of air treatment in which the temperature is controlled, or can be lowered, and includes systems which combine such air treatment with the control of ventilation, humidity and air cleanliness’. This includes both fixed self contained systems, such as split systems and centralized systems. Mechanical ventilation systems that provide no mechanical cooling themselves, but serve spaces that are cooled by other means are included. Any components contained in air conditioning systems that are only intended to provide heating are excluded. Air conditioning systems that provide refrigeration for process applications, such as server rooms, would also require an inspection if that part of the system allows an inspection to be carried out.

The requirement to inspect systems based on the comfort of occupants has been removed and replaced with ALL systems.

Please Note: The DCLG Guide to Air Conditioning Inspections for Buildings is legislation TM44: 2012 is a Technical Manual for inspecting Air Conditioning Systems, with the emphasis on Comfort Cooling. TM44: 2012 was written prior to the change in legislation and has not been updated since.

In all cases the DCLG guide should be used when considering if an Air Conditioning System requires an inspection.